About Us


Role and Status of the Mauritius Sugar Syndicate


In 1951, following the recommendations of the Mauritius Economic Commission 1947-48, the Mauritius Sugar Syndicate (the “Syndicate”), which finds its origins in 1919, was legally constituted for an indefinite period in pursuance of the Mauritius Sugar Syndicate Act 1951.

The Mauritius Sugar Syndicate is the sole organisation responsible for the marketing of sugar produced in Mauritius; it has for object the sale of all sugars received by it for the account of its members and the distribution of the proceeds of such sale after deduction of common expenses. All sugar producers are members of the Syndicate and they numbered 13,348 for the 2017 crop.

In fulfilment of its role, the Syndicate’s primary objective is to optimise producers’ revenue through adoption of commercial strategies likely to capture the highest yields obtainable from markets on a sustainable basis. Its operations are structured into specialised departments geared to provide support services of direct relevance to its core business, namely marketing, sales and logistics, finance and accounts, assistance to producers, and also ensuring quality and food safety for the sugars supplied.

portThe Mauritius Sugar Syndicate is managed and administered, as provided by its Articles of Association (1967), by a statutory committee known as the “Committee” which comprises twenty-two members, fourteen being representatives of the corporate sector of the industry and eight representatives of large and small cane planters. The representatives of the corporate sector are appointed by the relevant members while the planters’ representatives are appointed by the Minister of Agro-Industry and Food Security upon recommendation of planters’ associations.

The President of the Syndicate is elected at the organisation’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in September. Since 1976, the President’s Chair rotates between a planter and a corporate representative. The AGM also approves the composition of the Committee and that of the Executive and Selling Committee (ESC) which comprises eleven members, including six representatives of the corporate sector, four planters’ representatives, and the CEO of the Mauritius Cane Industry Authority (MCIA).

harvestingThe ESC, which meets every 3 to 4 weeks, is the steering body of the Syndicate and its decisions are taken by consensus. The Committee meets at least twice a year to ratify the decisions of the ESC. For improved governance, sub-committees, comprising members of the ESC, have been established to provide support to the Syndicate’s Management in specific areas. They are the Marketing Committee, the Forex Committee, and the Audit and Risk Management Committee. A Remuneration Committee is set up on an ad hoc basis to address issues relating to remuneration, promotion and recruitment within the organisation.